Hello from the Mitten!

Hello! My name is Anne :slightly_smiling_face: I’m 33, live in Michigan in the USA (holy brrrr right now).

I have been learning with Justin for almost 2 years. I took lessons in junior high, but didn’t stick with it. I may have given up then, but I kept that Washburn Oscar Schmidt through something like 2 houses and 5 apartments. I finally picked it up again, the E string immediately broke, and I got over my nerves and schlepped myself down to Guitar Center for a new set of strings and picks.

I consider myself an advancing beginner - at this point I’m still just a girl playing guitar in my living room, and I’m happy in the background of the rock songs on the melody. Trying to psych myself up to play with actual people. I’m still playing that ~20 year old Washburn, as well as a new-to-me Tremonti PRS SE with a Boss Katana.

When I’m not playing guitar (or working to pay for my expensive hobbies :sweat_smile: ), I also love to travel, do yoga, run, and triathlons, or head around town to listen to some live music. See you around, friends!

9 Likes

Welcome Anne!! :grin:

1 Like

Welcome to the Community, Anne. I had to chuckle, had a real Julia Roberts/Hugh Grant/Notting Hill moment reading ‘just a girl playing guitar’. I guess we are all just boys and girls playing our guitars. And when the time is right sharing our playing with our Community Friends in #record-yourself-progress-performance:audio-video-of-you-playing

Will surely see you round :smiley:

Welcome to the Community Anne from a fellow (southeast) Michigander! It sounds like you have some very nice new gear with a PRS and a Katana - both good choices!

Hi Ann, welcome to the community - when I read I’m just a girl playing my guitar it instantly made a well known (and great) No Doubt song come to mind!
Sounds like you may have traveled around a bit; 2 Houses and 5 Apartments sheesh!!!
Looking forward to hearing your music :musical_score: soon; have fun!

1 Like