Hello from Toronto!

Hi everyone, greetings from c-c-c-c-cold Canada!

I started playing the guitar quite a long time ago, I took some lessons when I was around 13. But I soon ditched the lessons and I’ve been playing on my own ever since. I was blessed/cursed with a musical ear, so I would figure things out for myself for the most part. The downside of that, is that I never learned theory or engaged in any real structured learning.

So here I am at 42 years old, I got sober a few years ago and I’ve been sorting out who I really am and what I love. Turns out, I still love the guitar and want properly learn it and one day JAM with others, perform for others, join a band…maybe? Are there bands out there for middle-aged moms? Haha

I’ve always enjoyed Justin’s videos on Youtube, but I’ve just started the actual course. I’m literally starting from the beginning so I can get the basics and hopefully unlearn some bad habits I’ve developed over the years.

I’m super stoked that there is a huge community here, with lots of opportunities to engage with others!

Anyway, looking forward to exploring everything here…

• Linda
12 Likes

welcome :slight_smile:
I’m always glad to see other women playing guitar ^^

1 Like

Welcome to the forum Linda

1 Like

Hi Linda,
Welcome here and I wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses: and here for you :fire: :fire: :fire:

How long are you willing to travel ?..I’m still looking for a player :roll_eyes:

Greetings,Rogier

1 Like

Great stuff Linda, look forward to hearing more from you!

1 Like

Hi Linda, welcome to the community forum. That’s a great idea to start back at the beginning and review all the beginning lessons. Have fun on your third and best guitar journey.

1 Like

Hi Linda good to meet. A wise move to start from scratch. It will flush out any bad habits or weaknesses and shouldn’t take long to find a level the fits where you are at right now. And you can then build on that going forward. Welcome onboard.
:sunglasses:

1 Like