Hello I'm an old time trucker named Mike, from Indiana

Are there any older folks on here? I will be 75 in about 3 months and am fighting stiff finger joints and really wondering if there are enough old brain cells to absorb all of this, LOL. It is a bit discouraging.
I have had guitars for about 20 years and never could get the hang of it, I started with an acoustic that was wrong from the beginning, action was way to high and just atrocious to try and play. I gave up on it.
Then at a Mom & Pop music store, they had me try an electric guitar, I was really impressed by it and got into really trying to learn. But also doing that wrong as I tried to self teach and found out that was not good.
Forgive me for getting carried away with my life with guitars.

4 Likes

Welcome to the community Michael there ate lots of old guys here. I’m 61 not new to learning but you’ll find lots of beginners over 60 here Older guitar students / Can ‘old dogs’ learn new tricks?

@1oldman Don’t worry there are plenty of us of how shall I put it, of a more mature age. Don’t be put off, I have a few years on @stitch and just started on Justin’s lessons at the beginning of the year after not having picked up a guitar for 50 years.
Also welcome to community from another Michael​:notes::guitar::+1:

Thanks for the welcome. I have some pretty bad health problems, but I am hanging in there.
One of the problems with learning is there doesn’t seem to be much music for my tastes.
I am a real fan of the Shadows, Ventures, Duane Eddy and Dick Dale. So I guess that pretty much makes me old school.

But I am trying and practicing at least 3 times a day. I have been having some internet problems lately due to Thunder Storms, so I haven’t been logging on very much. Repairman is supposed to be here in 2 more days, I sure hope he will find and fix the problem.

Once again thanks.
1 oldman

1 Like

Hi Mike,