Hello, I'm Michael from South Carolina, USA

Hey there! My name is Michael and I’m from a small town in South Carolina. I’m 34 years old, this is my first attempt since high school to really learn guitar. Nearly 20 years ago now (yikes!) I wanted to emulate my favorite guitar players and music from the bands they played in. Iron Maiden, AC/DC, Black Sabbath and others were what I wanted to play. But, lacking a teacher, I tried to learn via internet tabs, long story short I ended up quitting after a while. I thought my dreams of rock n roll were dead and gone…

Fast forward to now, I’m much older, married with two wonderful children, and the allure of learning to play those classic songs that I still adore pulls strongly. Maybe its getting older and realizing that life is finite that made me inspired to try again.

I found Justin through a family friend who plays and I couldn’t have asked for a better teacher, especially on the internet where good information can be tough to find. I’ve been practicing for give or take 6 months and I’ve made great strides in learning my open chords, power chords, strumming and picking, a little theory and transcribing. I’m absolutely loving learning everyday.

Anyway, if you’ve made it this far thank you for reading. I guess the last thing I want to say is that I’m motivated to learn and play with others, which is the main reason I’m posting. So, please feel free to say hello and I really look forward to meeting and hopefully chatting and jamming with you!

9 Likes

Welcome, Michael. It’s a great place, glad you joined us.

Hello Michael & welcome!
I’m wishing you lots of fun with your musical journey! Remember, it’s not a sprint, it’s a marathon!!! I “burned out “ twice in my younger years, now at… ahem… let’s just say Over 60, taking things slowly & definitely more thoroughly I have seen a lot more progress!!!
Good job picking up the guitar & pursuing that dream & Good Luck!!!

Tod in New Mexico