Hello, I'm Sean from Australia. Introduction and learning a new skill

Hello, Sean from Australia. After a background of playing bagpipes, I have shifted to guitar. As a Veteran, I had a vision of writing a song(s) about experiences, not just about myself but others as well. I have attempted to send these lyrics to various artists with no luck. A few starts, but no finish. So I thought, I would learn guitar, and create my own song. Struggling with the right chords…yes, but learning in any case.

11 Likes

Welcome to the forum Sean

Hello Sean and welcome to our community. :slight_smile:

Sorry to read you did have much success with your songs but once you have a little guitar skill under your fingers, it would be great to hear what you have written.

Hi Sean and welcome to the forum :wave::smiley:

Hi Sean,
Welcome and I wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

Welcome to the Community Sean.
As others have said build your skills up. Once you have the open chords down, take a look at Justin’s lesson on common chord progressions and see if you find something that the lyrics. And shout out if you need help.

:sunglasses:

Welcome aboard, Sean!
Have lots of fun learning guitar and writing songs. It’s such a great thing to do, so all the best for you! :smiley:

Hi Sean

Welcome, and good luck and joy on your songwriting journey!

I think learning guitar foundations well to write music is a great approach. I’m also just getting there, but always trying to have fun with the learning process.

Cheers
Marcel

Welcome Sean, from a fellow Aussie.

Looking forward to your songs. Sounds like you’ve got a few. Stick close to Justins teaching, and this great community, and you’ll be playin your tunes in no time.
All the best.

Cheers, Shane

Hey Sean, welcome to the community, nice to hear from yet another Aussie! Oi Oi Oi!!!