Hello, learner Bob here

Hello everyone. I have recently posted a video (my first) in the beginners safe space and was advised to post an introduction here.

I’m Bob and I’ve been playing (seriously) for about 18 months having bought my first guitar in 2016. I tried a couple of different self learning methods online before this and they petered out. So glad I tried Justin Guitar as when I started I wouldn’t have believed I could play a song right through, never mind put it online. I don’t see me ever quitting now.

I have also tested positive for Guitar Acquisition Syndrome which I think has settled down for now with 5 acoustics and 3 electrics. I love a solid top or all wood acoustic and have spent many hours perusing all the lovely options online. I definitely lean more towards acoustics as I enjoy strumming and singing. I’m always printing off more song tabs. I would definitely like to improve with barre chords, power chords, soloing and fingerstyle. I just wish I had more time and may have to focus on one or 2 of these and knuckle down.

After receiving some very kind comments on my video I would definitely encourage others contemplating it to dive in. You only have fear to lose.

9 Likes

Hullooo Bob! Welcome to JG!

Theres no known cure! Do we have photos of these symptoms?

1 Like

Thanks for the welcome Rob. Great name too.

Regarding the acquisition issue: I was told by a man “The next one will fix it”. I was in a guitar shop at the time and he was behind the counter. I am not certain this was completely impartial advice.

1 Like

Sounds like wise advice!

1 Like

It’s terrible advice but you have to keep checking to see that’s still the case in an ever changing world.

welcome to the community, great to hear from you.

1 Like

Thanks for the intro, Bob. Keep on keeping on and you’ll achieve the improvements you desire.