Help! I have no Rhythm

Hi All,

Not sure where to post this question…
I’m learning Blues licks and I’m trying to play the licks to backing tracks and my timing/rhythm is S!%QT…
I have no idea when to start the lick, how fast of slow to play the lick…It’s like I have brain freeze when the backing track is playing LOL

I know how to play the below licks, but when using Justin’s backing track (from below page), I am battling to find when to start the licks etc…and I sound terrible (using a Clean tone on Katana MK11 50)
How do I learn to master rhythm? Just by practising against the backing track, learning when the beats are?

From Blues Solos - Justin Guitar book.

I’ve been playing guitar now for 6 months, just so you know :see_no_evil:

2 Likes

Hi Rachel,

First of all, 6 months is quite short and the fact that you have already arrived at these lessons shows that you did not complete the course even a little according to highly recommended schedule :flushed:, and then you should also have heard during the lessons that you first practice a lick and that it is good. can apply and practice in as many ways as possible until you are almost tired of it, so never several at the same time that do not work, after 6 months in Grade 4 is really too fast …

you are missing a very important basic knowledge and so this is doomed to failure … not nice news but the truth … :blush:

Greetings ,Rogier

Hello Rachel. I have to say that I’m surprised you are learning blues licks after only playing for six months, and not surprised when you say rhythm is a big challenge. I’ve been playing 20 months and am just getting through Justin’s level 4 blues courses. It seems most of us struggle to find and sustain rhythm for a long, long while. I’d suggest slow down a bit, practice easier exercises that build the “muscle memory” we all crave. Good luck!

Hi Rachel -