Hey everyone, Sophie from Belgium here

Hello all

I’m Sophie, 37 and currently living in a small town in central Belgium that comes alive a few days a year for the Rock Werchter festival.

As I learnt from many other introductions I read, my guitar journey seems quite typical and “start - stop”. :slight_smile:

I started playing on my dad’s old classical guitar around the age of 14, and bought a cheap strat-type guitar a few years later. This was before I had internet access, so I tried to teach myself how to play with the help of a few books, which obviously didn’t work very well and I sold my guitar.
After university, I decided to buy a guitar again (PRS SE Standard) and took 2 years of group lessons, but although they were fun, they weren’t really helpful. I had also discovered Justin Guitar by then, but even though that made me progress a lot faster, the everyday hustle of work and chores I quit nog long after.

About 1.5 years ago I really wanted to pick up the guitar again, and I did so with the help of the meanwhile massively expanded and improved JG website (currently working through grade 4). I also acquired two more guitars since then (a Schecter C1 SLS Evil Twin and an acoustic Sire A4DS (gifted to me by my partner)). And since 3 months I’m taking private lessons, which help a lot.

As I’ve heard from some of you, it’s hard at times to stay motivated. Taking the lessons definitely helps, but a very busy job often leaves me with little time, energy or motivation. I also don’t know anyone else who plays the guitar, so that doesn’t help.

However, I’m hoping to stick around here for some time and be inspired by all your stories and achievements, and hoping to add something to this mix once in a while.

Thanks for reading and see you around!

S

6 Likes

Hi Sophie and warm welcome to Community. I think you will find engaging with Community quite useful and it hopefully will help with your motivation and momentum. All the best.

1 Like