Hey! Grant from Pasadena

Hello! I’ve been a Justin student for over a decade now. YouTube history tells me my first lessons were his Layla Unplugged videos; from there I was hooked. I’ve pointed a number of aspiring guitarists towards Justin as the place they should start, and have found Justin’s songbooks to make fine gifts (for others… and for myself)!

I’ve long been an amateur geek about music theory, and I’m always trying to spot patterns and themes to help me understand why certain musical decisions (chord changes, rhythms, etc.) “work”. As such, I’ve loved the extra depth Justin provides in his videos: you watch a video to learn how to play a single song, but by the end you’ve learned theory and technical skills you can apply to many other songs… including writing your own. Justin explains the “why” far better than most instructors I’ve encountered (both online and in person).

Recently, I began a new practice routine (as is too often the case, I’m coming off of a long guitar dry spell), and focusing my efforts on fingerpicking songs, which I find viscerally satisfying. Most recently, I learned Fleetwood Mac’s “The Chain” from Justin’s lesson. I’m also big into transcribing. Although I seldom write down more than the chords, I savor the challenge of learning a song by myself first, then finding Justin’s video (or a video from the one other online instructor I trust), and “grading” myself.

I tend to keep guitar and music to myself, so I’m going to make an effort at participating in the community as I work my way through some new lessons. Thanks to Justin and his team for continuing to create such valuable lessons and content over so many years!

Cheers,
Grant

9 Likes