Hey... Scott from Colorado here

Hey y’all. I’m picking guitar up again after a 25+ year hiatus. Started playing in college and was mostly self-taught. Good part about that is that I really trained my ears. Bad news is that I didn’t have a lot of the fundamentals. Anyways, after 15’ish years playing, I was at a place where I could play for hours on end, entertaining myself (and occasionally those around me) with a pretty good repertoire of songs. Mostly loved playing my 12 string acoustic. Then… life got in the way. House, marriage, job. Lots of similar stories here.

For a number of years, I’ve been thinking about trying again but could never get past the first few days of finger pain (I don’t remember it being that bad when I was 18 :joy:)

What finally got me motivated was coming into possession of this:

Long story but both are 1957, all original parts. I couldn’t stand the thought of them just being decorative. So, decided to recommit. Found out about Justin via Reddit and decided to start from scratch. Really glad I did as it’s filling in a bunch of those fundamentals I never got the first time around. Been going strong for about a month now. Even have the callouses to prove it.

Excited about the journey.

13 Likes

Wait what you have a 57 amp and tele? ah nice work there!

JG is a great learning resource and like yourself I am back playing after a significant break , takes some mindset to push through the pain again but enjoying actually having the fundamentals down well now.

1 Like