Hi all - Paul from the UK

Hi all, I’m Paul. I’ve been playing guitar for many years (30+? eek!) but only really strumming chords for folk groups at church. So I’m pretty OK with following chords off a lead sheet (and a little bit of finger style), but that’s about it.

I’ve known about this site and watched Justin’s videos for ages now, but always just watched - there never seemed to be enough time to actually practice. But I’ve now retired, and I want to start taking some of the other areas of my guitar playing seriously. So I’ve picked up my old electric guitar and I’m hoping to get into scales, soloing and basically expanding my horizons a bit!

It’s a struggle to know where to begin - a lot of the lessons are a mix of stuff I’ve known for years, and stuff I’ve never even touched, so I find myself feeling like I’m relatively advanced one moment, and then a raw beginner 5 minutes later… But it’s fun picking up the new stuff, and Justin’s videos are a huge help, so that’s cool.

Hopefully sometime soon I’ll have a bit more to share, but for now, that’s me :slight_smile:

8 Likes

Welcome Paul, if you’re not consolidating just start digging at a topic that grabs your attention.

You can always search for anything you’re ‘missing’.

2 Likes

Welcome to the community Paul,

The lesson map may be useful for you to navigate the site and lessons.

4 Likes

Welcome Paul, good to meet you. Sounds like you’ve got some fantastic experience and history, it’ll be great to hear how you get along, no shortage of choice of areas for you to dive into I think!

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum Paul

2 Likes

Hello Paul, and a warm Welcome to the community :hugs:.
Wow, 30+ years of experience - that’s quite a lot.

I think, it might help having a closer look at the course topics even of the very first grades, to make sure, that you don’t miss something important/essential.
Socio has already mentioned the lesson map. A very helpful tool for sure :slightly_smiling_face:.