Hi - Andrew from Hants, UK

Hi All
I joined a couple of months ago and have been lurking - guess it’s time to say hello. I’ve been looking at the open mic videos - wow! So impressed with what you are all doing.
Here’s a quick summary of my story. Having read a few others I am sure it will chime with many of yours. Picked up a guitar as a teenager (in fact made one from a neck I found on a household waste tip!) but quickly decided I didn’t have the talent and gave it away. Spent a lot a of time complaining to friends that I wanted to play guitar and (perhaps to shut me up) got given one for my 40th birthday. Have been playing on and off, mostly learning rhythm parts to songs by rote but have realised I would like to do this properly. Hence finding my way here.
My big challenge is getting distracted by gear. As an engineer I tinker a lot and have also built some pedals and a couple of amps. Gets in the way of daily practice!
Looking forward to hearing more about what you are all up to and comparing notes on the journey…
Cheers
Andrew

6 Likes

Hi Andrew, welcome to the community, great to meet you.

The gear addiction is real. I keep telling myself mentally: “Not practicing isn’t going to get you where you want to go on your guitar journey.”. For me it’s all about playing songs, once I could play my first song all the way through, I was addicted. You are ahead of me starting at the young age of 40ish.

Hey Andrew welcome to the forum!

Its ok to get distracted by gear if you ask me, and my reasons are oooh look another Les Paul!

Hi Andrew from a fellow UK lurker who has just introduced himself on the forum.

If you play a new guitar on average 8 hours each its only 1,250 guitars to do your 10,000 hours!

1 Like

Wow, That’s cool, only 1237 guitars to go for me

3 Likes

Hello Andrew and welcome. :slight_smile:

I’m resisting looking to much at gear as I know I’ll end up being sucked in.