Hi, Erick from Idaho, USA here

Hello everyone,

My name is Erick and I am a 52 year old beginning guitar player from Idaho (originally from The Netherlands). Although I have been playing for over two years I still feel I am a beginner. This is my second try on learning to play the acoustic guitar. There is so much to learn.

I am following Justin’s lessons as part of my journey. He is a great teacher. Currently in Grade 3, module 15. I am also using other great tools available now for beginning guitar players. What I enjoy most is to learn a song and then play (and sing) along with the original on YouTube (as long as the song does not have an A chord … :grinning:). Love to hear from other beginning players how they manage to keep on learning and keep on enjoying the guitar.

3 Likes

Welcome to the Community, Erick. Sounds like you are doing well this time round.

In addition to the continuous learning I find learning and recording songs keeps me enthused and now performing songs both here at the Community Open Mic Events #community-open-mic-events:community-open-mics and AVOYP #record-yourself-progress-performance:audio-video-of-you-playing plus every now and then the producing of an original song.

The secret of keeping on playing is to have fun, enjoy what you’re doing don’t get bored or have it feel like it’s a chore…….

2 Likes

Hi Eric and welcome!!

Out of curiousity… do you struggle with A chords as well? Me too… i think F is far easier than A :rofl:

Thanks, David. I am recording some of my songs so I can learn from it. Not ready yet to share with the outside world. I’ll have to check out the open mics community and some of the AVOYP posts. May be one day I will be brave enough to posts my own video. Thanks for all the advice!

1 Like