Hi from Galway, Ireland

My name is Kris and I’ve been learning from Justin Guitar for around ten or eleven years. I’ve been bashing away at a guitar for probably 25 years now, but in fits and starts, so I haven’t progressed a lot a lot over all that time.

What I have learned I’ve learned in three bursts. In 2001-02 I was teaching English in South Korea and I met a guy called Kevin Wolf who played guitar. I played and sang something simple I already knew, he thought my voice was pretty good, so he said we should play together. He taught me a few songs and introduced me to the tablatures that were circulating on the internet back then that were such a great pre-YouTube learning resource. We put together a little set list, busked outside a mall and played a couple of ‘gigs’ at a local rock bar.

The second burst was after I dropped out of a PhD in anthropology in 2008 because I wanted more time to play guitar and watch t.v. (this was peak binge-tv watching years, Sopranos, Six Feet Under, etc etc). That summer I spent a lot of time on the crumbling rooftop deck of my crummy Toronto apartment learning a lot from lessons put together by Guitar Noise’s David Hodge. He had some really cool lessons, I remember enjoying Give a Little Bit by Supertramp and Driver 8 by REM as especially interesting to learn (I should pick them up again, couldn’t play them now).

While I first encountered Justin Guitar in 2012 or 2013, my third burst didn’t come til I received Justin Guitar’s Acoustic Songbook for Christmas in something like 2015. I really learned a lot from that book over a couple of years. I was especially proud to pretty much nail Sheryl Crow’s Strong Enough, with those couple of tricky chord changes and that really interesting 6/4 time signature.