Hi from Lutterworth UK

Hi, just thought i’d introduce myself. I started learning the guitar, about 8 months ago, May 23. It was something i’d always wanted to do, but never actually did anything about.
I finally got around to doing to help encourage my son who had started lessons at school.
Unfortunately i’m now too old (62) to be any good, but it would be fun to at least be able to knock out a few tunes.
The guy in the local music shop recommended the Justin guitar app as an option for me when i purchased my first guitar.
Any hope i’ve done this right, and i just wanted to say hi and to say how much i’m enjoying it so far.
Cheers Jon.

8 Likes

Welcome Jonathan,

You’re in the right place here mate. Brilliant tuition from an exceptional teacher, and a great, friendly community here to engage with. You’re in for a lot of fun.
Stick close to Justin’s tuition, and reach out here anytime.
As for being too old (62) to get any good? Plenty of ‘old dogs’ here who started relatively recently, and are becoming accomplished players. Many here would say you’re a ‘yougun’ at just 62. :nerd_face::rofl:
All the best.

Cheers, Shane

1 Like

Too old to be any good. NAH! I just started last January and I’m a couple years old than you. I’m amazed how far I’ve come, no I’m not ready to play for anyone but they good people here, but I never expected to improve this quickly.

Welcome to the group, Jonathan!

Hi Jon, and welcome to the community. I agree with Shane and Rebecca, 62 isn’t old around here, and you can certainly become a good player more than capable of knocking out a few tunes. If you have the opportunity to play guitar with you son then that’s wonderful on so many levels.

Hi Jonathan,
Welcome here and I wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses:
Greetings ,Rogier