Hi from New England, road to punk!

Hey! I think I’ve introduced myself here before but my name is Dave. I’ve been playing on & off for 10 years now but I want to ACTUALLY learn some theory and really feel like I know what I’m doing on guitar. After watching Justin’s SMART Goals video I have a question: how can I play like my guitar heroes: Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day, Rivers Cuomo of Weezer specifically his soloing, Matt Skiba of Alkaline Trio. I also play a lot of metal like Killswitch Engage, Slipknot and Gojira. But what should I be practicing specifically in order to get to where the first 3 artists are at? What lessons on here would help me with this? My ultimate goal is to possibly join a band but really I want to put out covers! I’ll probably post in the future about help with recording set up and all that jazz but for I’m just curious about what to practice they will get me where I want to go!

I have been somewhat active on here in the past but I want to make it a point to be more active on here with others!

1 Like

Welcome again, David. I’m unable to answer the questions. Justin’s theory will help and maybe reviewing his courses to confirm your technique, close any gaps. Then perhaps just about listening, transcribing, and trying to copy … but as I say above my play-grade to answer with confidence.

1 Like

No worries! Thank you! Is there anywhere else I should or could post my question? My biggest problem aside from literally not understanding theory is not knowing where to go! I need direction hahah

Hi David and Welcome

I started penning a reply but stopped, as I am not sure I am qualified to answer specifically. Indeed I just watched the video this evening and having a ponder about my own goals.

I am sure someone with more experience can give you more specific answers but it would be good for you to clarify your current level. Goals & Destination is Grade 3 Module 17, so have you completed the proceeding Grades?