Hi from Phil in England - I'm an absolute beginner (as Bowie sang)

Hi, Phil here from England.
Recently retired at the age of 65 as the title says an absolute beginner. When asked by my guitar playing daughter a few months ago what I was going to do with my time I jokingly said I should take up the guitar. The idea started to grow so here I am. This site was recommended to me by my daughter and her partner who is a musician, teacher, guitar loving type of guy. My son also plays as well.
I must say this site is an incredible resource as I find my way around it. A real credit to Justin and his team, such an inspiring instructor as well.
I have started the beginners course and am now at the end of the first module trying to improve, speed up and clean up my A to D changes. I have found that my sense of rhythm is on par if not worse than my dad dancing when trying to strum along and chord change to my first song.
I also realise that it will be a slow process as the brain to finger interface is not as good as it used to be when younger. Trying to make two hands do different things and maintain a rhythm at the same time is a new challenge. The strumming machine that I have found on the site will hopefully help with the rhythm and move me forward.

12 Likes

Welcome to the forum Phil you come to the right place

Hi Phil, nice to meet you. Enjoy your retirement having lots of fun on your guitar learning journey

Hi Phil. Welcome to the community.
I picked up the guitar at 67 after a 45 hiatus and have been learning with Justin for 4 years now. I’m also retired which allows a good bit of time to develop skills, practice and, of course, learn songs! It’s great that you have other guitar players in the family to help, support and play with you.

Hi Phil
Welcome to the community. As you say it’s a great resource. It all takes time, but day by day you’ll get there!
Cheers
Paul

Hi Phil,