Hi from Steven in Teesside

Hi guys and gals
My name is Steven Thomas and I’m from Redcar in Teesside North Yorkshire. I am in my 40s
I picked up the guitar to learn back in September 2019.
I had tried it when I was very young but unfortunately I lost interest, which I deeply regret now.
I am currently coming to the end of my beginners course which I have enjoyed thoroughly and it has helped me to get through some very difficult times me and my family have experienced over the past couple of years.
I have learned most of the studies but I do struggle learning songs which is kind of the whole point :roll_eyes:.
I have neglected the ear training which I must get in with and although I would love too, I haven’t learned much in the way of theory. I’m a truck driver and am away Monday to Friday most weeks so finding time is quite tricky so I decide to put my time into the practical side. I don’t take my guitar away with me so I practice when I park up on a night when I can.
I love music and I love my guitar and I am extremely grateful to Justin and all his team for the courses and help he gives.
Although my repertoire needs work I still can’t believe I have got to where I am now.
So Thankyou so much.
Music wise I love most things Rock and roll and like my hard rock and heavy metal.
I must also get my confidence up to one day post a video of me playing(maybe not singing, as my voice ain’t great :rofl:).
Anyway it would be awesome to gets some tips and help of all you wonderful folk and also maybe puts some input in myself.
Take care every one
Keep rocking🤟🏼

5 Likes

Hello Steven and welcome to the community

1 Like

Hi Steven and welcome to the Community.

Sounds like a familiar story that many folk have been through, starting, sometimes several times only to give up. Most likely though poor teaching material or lack of structure. If you’ve got through the Beginner grades, then you know that is no longer the case and you have everything here to make great progress.