Hi from the Lowlands

Hi, my name is Richy and I am an absolute beginner at the age of 60, living in the Lowlands(Netherlands).
Being here a few months I am really enjoying all I read and watch on Justin’s community and lessons.
Playing guitar was always a wish but I never came to it until beginning of this year a friend of mine played a bit as we had a coffee…
I was sold, bought me a Richwood acoustic and I booked some lessons at a guitar teacher… Unfortunately there wasn’t a click at all and when I asked about the pain in my fingers, he just said “get used to it” without any explanation or tips so I stopped…
Then I came accross Justin’s lessons on Youtube and began reading and listening, the rest is history.
The key was to start with an electric…Got me a 2nd hand Epiphone Studio which turned out to be broken and after taking time to read, I took the plunge and went for a Fender Strat. Two days after I got it, a guy in the neighbourhood had one of his Telecasters for sale. We met and talked about guitars in his little studio and he played…wow.
So allthough I am struggling a bit, I love it and still dream of playing like a lot of you.
Thanks for reading my introduction, all the best.
Richy

3 Likes

Welcome, Rich. As you say it started for all of us with a first dream, and now you are with us making dreams reality. And of course we never stop dreaming, it’s a never-ending adventure. Have fun every day.

1 Like

welcome to the community. I started at age 53 and similarly found it difficult to connect with one on one teachers. Far too many of them push theory far too early. I found justin guitar and the rest is history. 10 years on I’m SO glad I stuck with it for those first couple of months when progress is seemingly slow. Hang in there, it just keeps getting better.

1 Like

Hi Richy welcome to the community. Stick with Justin and before you know it you’ll be living the dream :ok_hand:

1 Like

Hi Richy,
welcome aboard!

1 Like

Welcome Richy,