Hi, I’’m Gary from the UK

Hi all, I’m Gary from the Uk.

I started playing guitar about 10 years ago and like many others, became frustrated

and decided to give up.

After losing my wife towards the end of last year, I’ve needed something to focus on and decided

to get my old Vintage V300 acoustic out of the loft and start again.

I’m re visiting Justin’s beginner lessons to try and get my technique right and get my fingers back in shape.

I’m no singer, so I will be concentrating on fingerstyle, which I’ve always loved.

I will put up a recording soon of where I’m at now and hopefully will progress further this time, looking forward to the months and years ahead.

4 Likes

Hello Gary and welcome to the community. :slight_smile:

I’m sorry to hear about the lose of your wife, hopefully music will help you as it does have the ability to refocus your mind on other things.

I look forward to you sharing your playing in the AVOYP section when you are ready.

Welcome to the Community, Gary. I hope the guitar and music can provide some comfort in this time. I’m sure those red fingers will ease soon enough.

Welcome Gary!
Very sorry to hear of your loss mate.
You have joined a wonderful community here, full of beautiful and generous people of all levels, helping each other out on this great guitar journey.
Looking forward to your progress. Just ask away if you have any questions at all, and join in the fun. :grinning:

Cheers,
Shane

So sorry to read about the loss of your wife. Tragic reason to pick up your guitar again. But I’m sure this will be a kind of therapy to focus on something positive in dark moments. A lot of really nice people in this community will help you to get along on this journey learning to play.

Hello Gary and welcome to the community.

Sorry, to hear about your loss and good luck with your guitar adventure.

Hi Gary,
Sorry for your loss.