Hi, I'm Brian a 51 year old beginner saying hi from Bakersfield, California USA

Hi everybody! My wife and I both just started learning guitar. I am a bit OCD and have tried several different apps and programs but chose Justin Guitar. I look forward to being here:)

3 Likes

Welcome! Justin is great and so are the folks in the community. Very helpful. I hope you and the wife have fun.

2 Likes

Welcome to the community, great to hear from you. I lived in the greater Los Angeles area in the 70s in my late teens and fondly remember being in Hotel California. I started playing 10 years ago at the age of 53 so you are a couple of years ahead of me already. Enjoy the journey, it’s a hoot!

2 Likes

Hello and welcome to the community! You will love it here. The lessons here are great.

I haven’t been here long but I can already tell you that this is a helpful, wholesome and very friendly community.

Enjoy your stay and I hope you and your wife have a lot of fun learning together.

2 Likes

Hello and welcome to the fray! How are things in good old Bakersfield? We don’t hear enough of that Bakersfield sound (Buck & Dwight). Lake Isabella used to be my favorite fishing lake (not too far from Bakersfield). I hear the water levels are very low right now.

Shameless plug (for better or worse) for a track I recorded a while back. It was my attempt to create a track as if Dwight and Buck were on the same stage twanging away:
Five Miles To The Bakersfield Bridge
I just realized that I don’t know how to embed a soundcloud link. Nothing looks right in the right hand pane of the editor.

2 Likes

Hello Brian, and a warm Welcome to the community :hugs:.
Starting this journey together with your wife is a wonderful idea :star_struck:. I wish you both lots of fun :grinning:.

2 Likes

Hi Brian, welcome to the community. You’ll find some very helpful and encouraging people here.

2 Likes

Hi Brian and wife,