Hi, I'm Dan from Santa Cruz, CA, and back in the saddle after breaking my wrist

Hello! I have been playing guitar for about 4 years after a long time off. I used to play guitar and bass in super abrasive rock bands and never bothered to learn much aside from how much noise I could make. :slight_smile:

After many years off I got back into playing, starting with my older Tele and eventually moving to acoustic. I have been really into country, folk, and blues playing lately and the music I like playing the most is by artists like Dwight Yoakam, Leadbelly, Tom Waits, Elvis, and Johnny Cash.

A little over a year ago I broke my left wrist (fretting hand) in a bike crash and spent a long time recovering. There was a lot of soft tissue damage that I will probably never fully recover from. Playing guitar definitely works my wrist but I am sticking with it and I am getting back into a routine. I am just thankful I can still play. I love playing and singing and being a part of music even if it’s just for me, my wife, and our neighbor’s cat Gato.

JustinGuitar has been a godsend for me. Prior to finding Justin’s site I had no structure at all and would just randomly practice things I thought might be useful, but Justin has helped me find a very clear path for my guitar studies. He’s also helped me appreciate a lot of new music, especially the song structures and I’ve managed to start singing while playing guitar which I found impossible before. My wife is a music educator (mostly piano) and sometimes she will watch Justin vids over my shoulder in awe of how good of a teacher he is.

I wish you all the best on your music journey and hope to connect!

-Dan

7 Likes

Hi Dan. Hope to see you around :slight_smile:

Justin is definitely the guy for structured learning.

I love the transition from “super abrasive rock bands” to Johnny Cash. Great story!