Hi, I'm Steve. Greetings to all

I’m Steve, 52 years old, currently living just outside the Lake District, UK, and I’m brand new to learning guitar. I used to be a writer in the video game industry but I had to take early retirement to care for my wife who is in the early stages of dementia. As such I found I had plenty of time on my hands, and a new hobby was needed. So I bought a guitar (Epiphone Pro-1 Acoustic) and here I am. I’m now 6 weeks into my guitar journey, and enjoying every minute of it - Justin is a great teacher. I’ve subscribed to the app, and strumming along to a few tunes really makes me feel the effort to learn is worth it - even if I am just using 2 or 3 basic cords :slight_smile: I like to sing, so if I can progress to the point where I can strum along on guitar while I sing a few songs I’ll be immensely happy.

10 Likes

Welcome to the community Steve :smiley:

You have a lot of change happening in your life right now, early retirement, the challenge and possibly the heartbreak of being your wife’s primary carer.

I’m glad you’ve given yourself an outlet, something for you, and that you’re here. You’ll find support, camaraderie and people to walk along the way with you here. I have no doubt you’ll find yourself, strumming, singing and it may be that some of those songs are those you’ve written.

Justin’s courses are exceptionally good, I wish you joy in the learning, the discovery and in the expression.

If you’d like to share a video your music, get some feedback etc, there’s a special section here for you Beginner’s safe space

1 Like

@brianlarsen it might be inspiring and comforting for Steve to hear the family recording you made with your mother singing. If you were to add some the comments you made about the making that would be good too.

2 Likes

Welcome to the Community Steve. You’ll get lots of support and advice here to help you along your guitar journey. Just ask.

1 Like