Hi to all, Paul from North West England here

Hi All. I am an absolute beginner, I couldn’t even master Three Blind Mice on the recorder at school! So at 62 I have decided to buy myself an electric guitar for 2 reasons. 1, to prove to myself that I can learn to play, I can now play chords D & A, only got it yesterday so off to a flying start!, and 2, which is the most important reason, is to learn to play Albatross. I have been married for 40 years and was fortunate enough to marry my best friend, who I met at high school. My wife adores this piece of music, so as a thank you to her for putting up with me for all these years I want to be able to play it to her. She has no idea that this is my real reason for buying the guitar and I realise its going to take a while but I know the effort will be worth it. That said, I have watched Justin’s first video on learning the track and have managed to play the one string at the beginning, so well on my way really!!

14 Likes

Welcome Paul. You are in the right place to learn guitar as there are so many great people here to help you along, with tonnes of great advice and encouragement and anything you need. Sounds like you are already up and running which is great.
It’s also really cool that you have a goal in mind and I am sure your wife will love it!
Enjoy the journey :sunglasses: and hopefully we get to hear from you along the way.

2 Likes

Welcome Paul! Great story, thanks for sharing! What a cool goal to have! Certainly sounds like you’re off to a great start. Best of luck with your journey. Looking forward to hearing more about it as you progress :wave: :slightly_smiling_face: :+1:

2 Likes

Welcome to the community. Great to hear about your motivation. I started at the age of 53 some 10 years ago and back then Justin’s beginners lessons made all the difference for me. Keep at it, it’s so very worth it.

2 Likes