Hi y'all! It's Oliver from Germany

Hello everybody!

My name is Oliver, I’m from Germany and 42 years old. I bought my first guitar just over a week ago – and now I’m here :wink:

I’ve been playing the piano for about 35 years, and I guess this also helped me to build up a good music theory background. I also played clarinet and saxophone for a few years in my youth, but stopped decades ago.

I guess I just wanted to know how to play another instrument. I guess I chose the guitar because a lot of people seem to play it and I thought it would be rather easy (boy, was I wrong!). And you can play it on your own and it might be quite helpful to be able to accompany songs without always carrying around my keyboard or stage piano.

I learned rather quickly that I started this journey with completely wrong expectations. I thought that after a couple of months you would know all the usual chords (say, all major and minor chords). And if that’s enough for you, you can stop there and accompany all kinds of songs reasonably well. Or you just continue and also learn those 7, m7, sus, diminished, augmented, … chords.

In reality, I was already quite frustrated after my very first practice session – when I noticed that playing the guitar makes your fingers hurt (and they hurt constantly since then). After another day I had somehow “mentally” accepted this. But now it frustrates me that I can’t seem to get the hand and finger position right, I can’t play a “clean” D chord, my wrist hurts, and so on. I’ve already posted some questions and comments in other discussions. Maybe you’ve already read my whining there :see_no_evil: