High E string buzz

Lately I’ve noticed my high E string buzzes when playing. It does this both when played open or fretted. I’m in grade 1 so 99% of the time I’m using fret 1,2 or 3. This is something new, it didn’t used to buzz like this. Any ideas or suggestions on fixing this? The guitar is a Fender Strat.

I’m still a guitar noob so any help is appreciated.

Hey mate,

A few possibilities. Might be the string itself. Put some new strings on if its been a while.
Could be at the nut, or the tuners. Check the tuners to ensure the little screws are firm.
Re the nut, you could loosen the string a bit, and put some graphite ( ie. from a pencil) in the little slot.
These are pretty quick and unobtrusive steps to try. May or may not help, but worth a shot before going further.

All the best,
Cheers, Shane.

1 Like

I had something similar a while ago. Check where the buzz is coming from? If it’s coming from the bridge, on strats there are two allen key risers per string to adjust the action (height) of the strings. One of them might be vibrating if they’re not at the same height. Try fiddling with that a bit.

Otherwise, work out where the buzz is coming from, like Shane says. The nut? The bridge? Frets? Usually the source of the buzz is close to the issue.

My string buzz turned out to be a fret that had popped a little. The local luthier sorted it for me.

1 Like

Thanks for the tips! :slight_smile: I’ll take some time tonight to work out where the buzz is coming from. I don’t know how long strings typically last but they’ve been on the guitar since I got it (June 14th 2019, apparently); I might be due some new ones.

A plus one for this, then check for a slight bow, sometimes can need adjustment following change of temperature / humidity (seeing as it’s a new issue):

When this happened on one of my guitars out of the blue, I discovered that the string had popped out of the groove on the bridge intonation mechanism. Easy fix, just pop it back in.