How do guitar chords get their names?

how do guitar chords get their name

2 Likes

Hello Barbara. This is my first time commenting. I played guitar for many years growing up, but I abandoned it in the past several years and am here to return to playing by reviewing all the fundamentals systematically. My understanding of why guitar chords are named the way they are is this: there are 7 main notes in music, which can each be called in two different ways depending on the country you are in or the “music language” that your music school uses. The notes can be called either: Do, Re, Mi, Fa, Sol, La, Si, or they can be called: C, D, E, F, G, A, B. Guitar chords are referred to by the names of their “corresponding notes” in this second way of naming notes (although they can also be named based on the first way of naming notes). Basically each guitar chord corresponds to a musical note, and gets its name from it. I don’t know the deeper musical theory reasons why there are precisely 7 main notes or exactly how each note is related to each corresponding chord. I hope that makes sense, and anyone please correct me if I’m wrong or provide further explanation if you can. If anyone read this thank you for your patience with my long winded comment, and have a nice day :smile:

1 Like

@barbaramariottini To avoid getting into long boring theory the simplest answer is
Chords get their names from the interval they are made up from.
Long answer
Major chords contain the Root(1) the 3rd and the 5th intervals. All this mean is in the Key of C the notes are C D E F G A B if you give each note a number 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 the chord C Major(C) gets it name from the Root note C and the 3rd interval, the Major 3rd using the number system. C E G
The chord C minor (Cm) use a flatten or minor 3rd Eb giving it a minor designation.
This work for every Major and Minor chord but you need to use the parent scale.
D major and D minor come from the D Major scale.