How do people cultivate "the feel" of playing guitar - going beyond the mechanics to reach a higher level of skill?

Greetings, All. As I enter my 8th month of my Guitar Mission™, I’m ever more aware that - alongside the techniques, the chords, the fretting, strumming, picking, rhythm, the knowledge - there’s a “feel” to this practice that I am oh-so-slowly acquiring, and it is really powerful (and, I think, important).

It’s very difficult to identify, let alone describe. To me, it feels like a transition from the guitar being a piece of equipment to be “mastered” to it becoming a partner (as in a dance) or even an extension of myself. I’ve been an extreme gardener for 30+ years, and I can wield rakes, shovels, pitchforks, wheelbarrows with efficacy and possibly grace. I am just beginning to see that there’s a very similar component of this familiarity/feel with the guitar that serves as a kind of “accelerator” to learning to play.

To be sure, the exercises and learning to play songs all contribute to the development of this “feeling.” It’s not only in the hands; the ears are essential, too. More and more, I’ve watched myself play things and actively thought, “I genuinely don’t know how I’m doing this.” I occasionally make near-instantaneous adjustments either to compensate for a mistake or to add some flair (for better or worse). But I feel like this intangible, un-discussed quality is beginning to significantly enhance my practice of the other aspects that are part of the daily conditioning routine. It makes them a bit easier to do initially and then seems to ingrain them more quickly.

My questions are:

• Do you experience this effect? If so, can you improve my description of it?