How to Fix Loose Electric Part in Acoustic Guitar?

Hi All. I’m about start to learn to play the guitar AGAIN lol but I’ve just noticed the electronic thing in my acoustic guitar is flailing around. I’ve attached a picture because I’m a beginner and don’t know what I’m really talking about.

I think I remember it being at the top of the sound hole where I could access it to change some settings if I played it plugged in (volume etc). I’ve never played it plugged in.

Does anyone have any advice on how I should fix it? Do I just glue or tape (any specific glue or tape) it back on where I think it was lol?

If you’re really unsure how to do this, can you take it to a shop for a day or so, they will see to that very easily for you. It would be a very cheap issue to deal with.

R

Thanks @Libitina. Taking it to a shop would be difficult for me, though if I really get stuck I may be able to sort something in the new year.

I’ve been watching some videos and do think I could do it myself. The rest of the pre-amp parts / wiring etc still seems to be intact, so it’s just the bit floating around in there that should sit at the top of the soundhole, so I can access the controls.

I think now I’m just looking for any suggestions on type of super glue or type of double sided tape to use, and if anyone has any recommendation on super glue vs tape.

1 Like

I think double sided tape would be ok in the short term but not a great fix as not much contact area so, if my guitar was like that I would opt for an epoxy and hold that in place with a strip of masking tape until its fully set, then remove the tape.

R

Can you see how it was held in before? That would be the first thing I would check. Any indication on the circuit board on how it was held in place?