How to make strumming with a pick smoother - and overall better

Hey guys! Ever since the first time I started learning the guitar Iā€™ve prefered to strum with my thumb. Compared to when I strum with a pick it simply sounds smoother and the chords sound more cohesive. From my understanding thatā€™s mostly because I kinda suck at strumming with a pick. The chords sounds uneven and cranky and I donā€™t like how it sounds.
Iā€™d like to request some help from the community to troubleshoot this. Many songs I like are played with a pick, not to mention Justin himself said not using a pick because you donā€™t how to use properly is the wrong reason to not use a pick!
Iā€™ve recorded a video comparing thumb vs pick so I can ilustrate what is going on. Let me know what you think! Maybe I strike the strings too hard, or maybe some drill or cue to help me with the angle of the pick is the answer. Or maybe itā€™s just because my guitar is way too old (Itā€™s from 1979 and has broken and been repaired a couple of times). Any input is apreciated.

1 Like

Hi Joao,
My advice would be to get the thinnest pick you can find and build up from there. I now use a 0.50 but when I started my pick was really thin and easy to bend. It will feel less harsh when you strike the strings.

Your pick grip looked ok.

Itā€™s a nylon string guitar - thatā€™s probably why youā€™re getting that unpleasant sound with a pick. Maybe try a lighter pick, or different material pick? Personally Iā€™m partial to Dunlop Tortex, Iā€™d suggest trying .5 (red) or .60 (orange). Youā€™d want a rounded tip, not a pointed tip for strumming.

That seems to be a key point!

Iā€™ve read that playing nylon strings with a pick will wear out the strings very quickly - can anyone confirm?

Ok not sure youā€™ll like this but spend more time with the pick.

So mostly here is a difference of tone, the thumb is much more mid/low end than the pick.