How To Strum The Correct Strings

Strumming only the right chords can be tricky! Learn how to handle it.

View the full lesson at How To Strum The Correct Strings | JustinGuitar

Lol Justin, the video is called how to strum the correct strings and in it you just say “actually it’s not important to get it right now”
I mean, you’re a great dude and I appreciate the encouragement, but couldn’t you give at least a hint on how to do it? (((=

2 Likes

I’m finally getting somewhat comfortable with the fret hand on OMC’s, but one of the next modules was playing the correct strings. Justin spends a bit of time talking about how at the end of it all it’s very important to play the correct strings (while saying it’s not THAT important while learning), but he doesn’t mention any techniques on HOW to actually play the right ones. Does anyone have any tips for a complete beginner?

2 Likes

@Dean1974 when learning your chords you should pluck the
lowest note in the chord then strum the chord. The D chord the
lowest note is the D string.
The A chord lowest note is the A string
The E chord lowest noteis the E string.
This will help with accuracy

3 Likes

Stitch’s suggestion is really best there is to offer. You can try to play songs in the future that use this sort of pattern where you start with the root note of the chord on a low side and arpeggiate remaining strings, good example is House of the Rising House however it contains the dreaded F chord. You sort of hit the bass string of the chord with the root, hit very quickly remaining strings, something in between arpeggiating and strumming, and then string by string arpeggiating up 3 strings in normal fashion.

You can also play songs like Everybody hurst by REM with a pick where you just hit one string after another, that way your pick accuracy becomes better which will help in the future with strumming only chords strings. All the best and good luck :slight_smile:

3 Likes