How To Use Anchor Fingers

Anchor finger is a simple but effective trick for fast chord changes!

View the full lesson at How To Use Anchor Fingers | JustinGuitar

Hey Justin, A Hi to you from India! Thanks for the free guitar course! I used a tip for myself, so Iā€™d like to tell u about it. I played the A-Chord faster since I realized it was easier and faster to do it the A-Chord compared to the D chord and got 34 Chord changes on my 7th try!

2 Likes

Hello @RayKonik and welcome to the community.

You mention having a tip but do not give your tip.
??

Cheers :smiley:
| Richard_close2u | JustinGuitar Official Guide & Moderator

Iā€™d really like to know the tip as well.

1 Like

Hi all. Iā€™m a total beginner and Iā€™m having a great time BUT for the life of me I canā€™t figure out how to switch between the A and D chords smoothly. Going from D to A is no problem, but when I go from A to D this is what happens:

• I lift fingers 2 and 3 then
  • I put down finger 2 then
  • I put down finger 3

But of course, I should be putting finger 2 and 3 down simultaneouslyā€¦ right?

Any tips on how to get this right? :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

Hi Monica and welcome to the Community. All I would day is just practicing perfect chord changes and one minute changes over and over again until it clicks. Just make sure you are not rushing, use your metronome start slow and build up the speed. It takes time for your brain to remember how to lay fingers in a shape simultaneously. All the best :blush:

2 Likes

Hi Monica and Welcome :wave: