“Hurt” cover with me singing

I just started learning this song and wanted to do a video now and compare it to a video in about a month this is the first time I’ve ever tried singing :scream:
I’ve really been trying to work on my strumming because it’s just not right doesn’t feel look or sound right.
The other day I watched the module 14 The backbeat hit.

While I was practicing along with this lesson I had to completely modify my strumming the way I was strumming before I could not get the muted Hit. It only took me about a minute to figure out how to do this with my strumming. And I think I had a lightbulb moment something just clicked and I felt like my strumming was so much better I don’t know if it is or not’. But it does feel better and like when Justin says in the strumming lesson when you finally get it you’re like, oh I can’t believe I couldn’t do that. And I feel I am almost there.
So if I get this right the first video will be me playing “Hurt” and singing. In the second video I just made a quick video of my new strumming
I am looking for any tips, comments, hints anything to improve my guitar playing please feel free to reply.

4 Likes

Well played Jason. Definitely improving :+1:

The strumming sounds more natural when you are strumming as your hand is just ‘passing through’ with the rhythm see 1:28 of second video. When you are ‘hitting at’ the strings, the timing drifts off and feels a bit disjointed, see 1:55 of first video.

Well done keep at it!

Well played Jason. As Dave says you’re definitely improving. And well done on taking the plunge and singing. It’s not easy playing and singing at the same time and you done very well. You have a nice tone to your voice. With regards to strumming I would highly recommend working through Justin’s Strumming Techniques course. It’s a really good course and costs less than a couple of coffees. I found it to really help me out with my strumming.