I bought a new guitar and it sounds tinny ... is this normal?

Can anyone help please?
I’ve been playing guitar on and off for a few years, my guitar is old and I purchased a new one, however, it sounds very tinny, is this normal?

Cheers
Graham

1 Like

Welcome to the forum Graham. Without knowing what you bought it’s hard to say. What was your old guitar and what is your new one. If your old one was a dred and your new one is a small body short scale it will sound thin compared to a full size dred.

What was wrong with your old guitar?

Hi Stitch,
Thank you for your reply.
My old guitar is an Alhambra made in Spain in 1978, the sound hole is 8.5cm diameter, neck is 5cm wide. See picures

The new guitar was purchased from a music website, primarily because it had a cut away and this is what I wanted. See pictures

I have noticed that the new guitar has two nylon strings, whereas the old one has three.
I hope this info helps.
Cheers
Graham

Hello @Hawkward and welcome to the community.

Your old and new guitars are two very different types Graham.
Your old one is a classical o(or Spanish) style guitar which will have three nylon strings.
Your new one is a steel-string acoustic - the non-wound strings are not nylon, they are metal. It will definitely sound more metallic (you may call it tinny) than your old guitar.
It is this model:

It is a budget model and will likely benefit from some attention by a guitar tech to check playability etc. but it should be okay as is.
What you’re hearing is likely just the difference between two different sort of instruments.

3 Likes

As Richard said, you’re looking at two very different guitars. Not only are they different types of guitars (classical vs. steel-string), but they’re probably also in different quality brackets (the Gear4Music guitar is a budget instrument), and they’re different ages. Your Alhambra would be considered a vintage instrument, at this point.