I just (re-)started my YT channel after 6 years of not playing!

Hey people of the community,

I started playing guitar in 2009 with the early Justin videos and learned everything as an autodidact thanks to him. I used to play a lot but gave guitar up completely when I started my PhD in 2016. Then, ever since I got a “normal job” in 2021, I have been thinking of getting back into it, and I have now finally got around to doing it! I absolutely love the feeling of getting lost in the music and letting go of everything else. It was such a loss to give this up for so many years.

Anyway, I’m starting again from easier things to build my abilities back up. I am happy to realise, though, that now that I am a bit older (33) I am naturally more interested in consciously paying attention to tone, so I am actively trying to replicate the sound I hear in original recordings.

Here are the first two videos I uploaded to YT tonight. There will be a lot of RHCP in my channel, especially to start off with. Both because they are my favourite band and because many of JF’s parts are around the perfect levels of difficulty for me to rebuild my playing.

Let me know what you think!

Much love, P

Californication solo:

Right on Time:

5 Likes

Sounds great! You can tell you have it nailed because you can’t hear the original guitar underneath yours.

1 Like

Hello @paolopitari welcome to the community and welcome back to the guitar you so clearly love.
Great way to introduce yourself!
:slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks Twistor. There are actually no guitars underneath mine, I used backing tracks to make sure my guitar was the only one you can hear. It’s great when backing tracks are available on YT cause then you can really hear how your playing sounds. I find that when the original guitar is underneath it always tends to cover the mistakes one makes.

1 Like