I need help

I started learning 2 years ago (self taught with Justin guitar courses). I learned lots of theory, ear training, hammer-ons and pull offs, practicing scales, lots and lots of noodling without playing much songs. Few riffs, play few chords, few strumming patterns and that is it. I love BBking and wish to make the guitar sing and cry lol. I feel so incompetent. Maybe because I don’t have much of a repertoire. I just need any tips to improve. I am learning at 40 years

2 Likes

How’s your bending and vibrato, pretty key things to achieve your goal.

The answer is in your question.

As Richard @Richard_close2u frequently advises, “Learn songs, learn songs, learn songs”

You’ve got to walk before you can run. Learn songs, learn songs, learn songs

10 Likes

I have to totally agree with Ian - you need to learn songs. If you love BB King, why not try this lesson. At about the 10 minute mark Justin gives an easier version using open chords and a capo. It’s not too hard and you can start playing along to the record. When you get really comfy with that you could start adding in some little licks and there you go … you can play a BB king song :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Have you been able to attend the blues club sessions? The first one contained a major realization moment for me regarding the use of licks. You may find watching this useful.

Welcome Doraid

Did you follow Justin’s learning path or just select lessons that interested you ?

From your comments there may be some foundational skills missing, that being the application of what you have learnt. “Play a few chords” ? As others have said learn songs, lots of them. See how they work, see how they are structured and how that feels when playing. Playing songs builds a solid foundation of rhythm which under pins everything that follows,