If you had 6 hours a day to practice guitar, what would your practice schedule look like?

I am asking out of straight curiosity to hear your input, but also thinking of doing something along these lines in these next 2 months I have off. (I am a teacher with summer off). I am learning theory and trying to get my playing past intermediate.

It would be great to use this free time to set up my own guitar “summer camp” for myself, but with a schedule of how much time I spend on each thing. I focus better with concrete schedule/ Things like warmup, technique practice, learning new techniques, backing track jam session, studying theory, etc.

Has anyone done something like this before? What would your schedule look like?

2 Likes

I hesitate to tell a teacher this but you cant learn and practice solidly for 6 hours straight… :smiley:

1 Like

Haha I welcome the feedback. I was thinking more spread through out the day. Using a timer for each session :wink: I guess I was more interested in what one might work on for each session in the day.

First hour, start with metronome work, picking open strings, then scales.
Second hour, chords & chord changes that bedevil you, still using metronome.
Third hour, strumming practice playing songs.
Fourth hour, study theory.
Fifth hour, practice songs.
Sixth hour, practice songs.

1 Like

9am - Coffee, Warm up, Scales, Finger Exercises
9.30am - Song Repertoire Revision
10am - More Coffee
10.05am - Surf JustinGuitar Community
11am - Learn a new song from a lesson
12pm - Lunch
12.30pm - Watch Youtube of insanely good people wondering if you will ever be that good
12.55pm - Feel depressed
1pm - Even more coffee, scale revision, practice songs you’ve learned recently that aren’t up to full speed/smoothness
2pm - Beer
2.05pm - Play loudly in the backyard while drinking beer
2.10pm - More beer and more playing, repeat. Sing loudly, make aggressive noises at the neighbours if they tell you to be quiet.
3pm - Put the guitar down