Igor’s guitar journey part 2

After almost a year of absence, due to sickness, I’m back at it👊
Decided to start all over again, with grade 1 , module 1.
Not that I was a lot further last year, but lost almost everything I had learned.

My gear, Fender cd 60 v3, in my truck. At home I wanted to use my wife’s old classical guitar, but after cleaning and putting on new string’s this week, and while tuning , broke the 6the string again🫣( first time putting strings on a guitar), I found out I don’t really like playing on that guitar, I gues the tuning is , since I have no experience tuning by ear, and with new strings you need a reference string to tune with a tuner, also I don’t like the feeling.
I’m going to ask my daughter, if I can use her electric guitar at home for the time being.
But I have a little doubt, if it is a good idea to mix acoustic and electric guitars in this stage.

3 weeks ago I started to practice , and now I feel confident enough to proceed to module 2

A&D chords are good, one minute change,have an average of 32 with most sounding ok.
I started out with, born in the USA , on the app on half speed, strum on beat one, but it just sounds like chord change, then I tried, give peace a chance, which on a good day starts to sound like music a Little bit😁

For the moment my practice routine consists of what Justin advice’s, and almost every day of the week, I also do some dexterity exercises for 10 minutes a day.

Next week I’m also starting with ear training and music theory .

Grtz
Igor

7 Likes

Hi Igor,

Welcome back to guitar playing. It sounds like you are making good progress already.

It is a fair bit to be starting on module 1 and doing ear training and music theory at the same time so if you do start to feel overwhelmed you might want to consider staggering those courses a bit. See how you go. We all learn in different ways so it might be no problem at all for you. The main thing is that you are having fun when playing.