I'm in Module 3 and my finger tips are still sore. Does this get better soon?

Hello all. I recall justin saying a few times that by this point finger pain should be pretty much gone and that the hard part will be chord changes. however, i am currently doing practice for module 3 grade 1 and i find everything (up strums, chord changes, rhythm) to be the easy parts while my finger pain hasn’t gotten any better. it is making it difficult for me to get through whole songs without just stopping because of finger pain. will it ever improve? lol are my fingers just weak?

Hi Aaron, fellow beginner here, in the middle of Grade 2. I’ve been at this for almost a year (I’m slow!). Honestly it took me a couple of months to comfortably play for 30 minutes. Keep it up, one day soon you’ll get through practice without thinking about pain!

So yes, it will improve. That said, for me the finger pain never completely goes away, but it has changed. Now I have days where it feels more like going heavy with weights at the gym. That’s “good” pain, right? :smiling_face: I’m still can’t play as long as I wish I could…my hands get tired even playing chords and songs I’m fairly comfortable with. When that happens I practice something easier on the hands (scales for example). I think of it this way: if I’m doing things properly and have (tolerable) discomfort, that must mean I’m doing work to get better!

1 Like

Hi there, another beginner here too. I’ve been doing regular practice 6 days and 2days rest for 7 weeks. It does get better but it’s quite slow. I’m only able to play for 10 mins and I have to rest my finger tips, fingers ok, but tip are very sore at that point.

Slowly slowly.

Rachel.

1 Like