Importance of scales

My observation on importance of Scales is that it is that they are too often dismissed because" they are boring and tedious" or “Learning songs should be first” For me they are the place I go back to each time I need to focus on Basics, Techniques or overwhelmed with How much their is to learn.Ive had a few Instructors, including :saxophone: who took this approach. I don’t get that … With scales there is the opportunity of improvising,which is what I enjoy…

I think it’s a lot to do with how they are taught as to whether you find them interesting or not. I’ve recently started learning the major scale and when I see the relationship between the major scale and other common scales I find it really interesting. It also marries up very nicely with my efforts to learn the notes on the fretboard.
I’m taking the approach of just a few minutes here and there rather than hardcore dedicated study which I’d find off-putting. As I’m just a beginner I’m not in a position to be writing my own songs but as I get more competent at playing I’ll have hopefully built up enough theory to do make up my own riffs / licks / songs

I pretty much do scales at every practice session as it helps, for me, with finger agility and memory.

1 Like

I watched a YouTube video yesterday that ended with this quote:

“If you’re not sure what to practice, practice scales. They make everything else better.”

3 Likes

Yep, scales of some sort are always a daily part of my practice.
For technique, they’re a great starting point for introducing new skills, eg. string skipping, playing triplets, legato, sliding etc
Simply playing a scale up and down repeatedly after you’ve internalised it is however a waste of time, and probably relates to the ‘boring, tedious’ label you mentioned.