Improving by not playing

Ahoy,
I’m a lockdown guitarist - 3 years in now, posted a couple of times about the journey. Still loving it of course, now have 2 electrics (Ibanez 721 and a an LTD1000 - absolutely love them!), as well as an acoustic. I try and practice an hour a day - and I have a routine. Often I manage more but some days don’t manage any, but at any rate a decent amount of practice.

Just throwing the above the out as context in relation to something I’ve noticed; there have been a couple of times where I’ve not been able to play for a period - say a week or more, when I’ve returned to it I actually feel like I’ve improved.

Last week I had to go back home unexpectedly to parents for 10 days or so - no access to guitars and no practice schedule. I’ve been working on some metal shredding techniques - improving speed and accuracy and have a routine based around shred exercises. Coming back after the layoff I really feel more fluid and relaxed - I feel much more in control when playing through the exercises rather than feeling like I’m trying to keep up. This is one example but as I say I’ve noticed this phenomenon before.

There’s no particular revelation here I suppose, just thought I’d share with everyone and ask has anyone else experienced similar? Is there actually a reason why taking short breaks from playing might improve a skill? And if so, is there value in actually scheduling in break periods, for example 3 weeks of practice and 1 week off (like the old 3 field crop rotation system we all learnt about in history!)? Or is it all just one of those brain playing tricks type things? That I haven’t actually improved and it’s just that a short break has given me a different perspective. Curious to hear thoughts!

2 Likes

Chris @Christo_pritchez
I am not like you I go away for a weeks holiday and when I get back it takes me more than a week to get back to where I was.
Michael