In search of the Lost Chord

OK here we go then. Let’s get started. I’m Andrew and I’ve been playing guitar on and off for quite a few years. I’d call myself an intermediate rhythm guitarist as what I have mainly done is learn chords and riffs by rote - all muscle memory. No fingerpicking, solos or anything clever. And I have finally come to realise that I don’t really use my ears. I have managed to bash my way through the odd gig as rhythm guitar in a covers band, but It’s time to do this properly, learn proper technique, scales and most importantly, discover that musical ear. If it is even there :open_mouth: This is going to be fun!

7 Likes

Welcome to the community Andrew. I have a plan to work on my ear as well.

Hey Andrew, you have a good foundation. That combined with your awareness and mindfulness will surely set you free. Have fun.

Hi Andrew,
Oooo man, there are very nice things waiting for you, and with the base you have it will go very quickly with this great site that you have found,…I wish you a lot of fun and let’s at least musically hear about your progress,
Greetings ,Rogier

Welcome to the Community, Andrew. Given what you have shared in introducing yourself I am sure the musical ear is there and well respond well to your approach to learning. Look forward to future updates as you log your progress in search of that chord.

Welcome Andrew

Sounds like to have a good base but no doubt you’ll review what you know and no doubt pick up some new skills along the way. Fun with a capital F for sure.

Enjoy the ride.

Cheers

Toby
:sunglasses:

It goes like this, the fourth, the fifth
The minor falls, the major lifts

Be sure to share if you find the secret :wink:

Hello Andrew and welcome. :slight_smile:

I’m sure if you stick with Justin’s course you’ll be blasting out solo’s before you know it. :smiley:

Hey - thanks for all your supportive comments. I hope I will be able to reciprocate once I have got going with things.