Intervals On The Guitar Neck

View the full lesson at Intervals On The Guitar Neck | JustinGuitar

this lesson talks about “you learn all the intervals in all 5 of the CAGED Major Scale shapes”. Are the CAGED scale shapes taught eventually in a future lesson? I’m currently on lesson 10 in the beginner 2 course.

@JakAngelescu Yes, starting in Major Scale Maestro 1 Major Scale Maestro 1 |

Cheers :blush:
| Richard_close2u | JustinGuitar Official Guide & Moderator

Any specific reason that it goes 5 → #5 instead of 5 → b6 (like 2 for example)?

There’s also b6 in the diagram on the 4th string.

Yes, that’s the part I couldn’t figure out.
2 → b3
b3 → 3
5 → #5
b6 → 6

So I was wondering if this was just a consistency error or not.

#5 and b6 are enharmonic equivalents and the naming depends on the context.

1 Like

I’ve watched Justin’s video on Major Scale Position 1. I understand that the black notes are the diatonic intervals, but am puzzled by the red notes. What are they? I’m confused by what b2, b3, b3, b5, #5, b6 and b7 are and what their significance is. Can someone please explain what they mean so I can understand them?

The red notes are simply the ones that are not in the diatonic scale. The “b” means flat and means the note is shifted down 1 fret (or one-half tone). For example, you can see the position of “b5” is one fret lower than “5”. The “#” means sharp or 1 fret higher than the named note. The #5 is one fret higher than the 5.

Thank you so much! I hadn’t thought of that, with the sharp and flat notes. It makes perfect sense now.

1 Like