Introductions are in order. I'm howlandwolf, from Athens, GA

My name is Reid. I’m 51, and I’ve been playing guitar for 35 years (my middle name is Howland if you were wondering where howlandwolf came from. What musician could resist?).

My avatar is my main guitar, a partscaster that started life in 1991 as an American Standard strat and has had everything except the body and bridge/trem replaced at least once. That’s black spraypaint, a Warmoth roasted maple neck with SS frets, the electronics are Mojotone, and there’s a set of Lollar pickups in its future. The current ones are Fender Tex-Mex and they’re…meh. Jimmy Vaughn makes them sound superb; alas, I do not.

Along my journey, I’ve written a boatload of songs, made a dozen or so records as a musician and another handful as a recordist, owned a studio, and traveled all over the country gigging. I spent a couple of years traveling with bands as a guitar tech, and I put in close to two decades schlepping guitars and gear at a couple of different music stores. My current band has been together for about thirteen years and released three records, with a fourth in the works; it’s a part-time thing now, but it’s too much fun to stop doing.

My favorite pop/rock bands all start with the letter B for some reason: Beatles, The Band, Beach Boys, Byrds, Badfinger, Big Star. The Clash changed my life when I got London Calling for my tenth birthday, and they remain dear to my shriveled heart. Love me some soul/r&b -Curtis Mayfield, Sly, Ike and Tina, Ruth Brown, Cornell Dupree, Steve Cropper, yadda yadda. Ella Fitzgerald is my favorite singer, far and away, and as far as pure musician go, it’s Joe Pass, all day long. I could go on and on and on; after a lifetime of record collecting and general all-around music junkiedom, brothers and sisters, I have opinions.

I love gear, have always been fascinated by instruments, amplifiers, mics, blah blah blah.

Cheers!

4 Likes

Welcome, Reid! Good to see you here.

2 Likes