Is it normal to "regress" when progressing to harder challenges?

Hope this is a good place for this.

I’m an adult learner and I’ve been playing for about 4-5 weeks now. I’m addicted to it in the best way possible. Grade 1 flew by in about 3 weeks and I was feeling pretty good about myself, I was noticing some muscle memory starting to set in, the grade-appropriate songs (I am subscribed to the app) were getting easier and easier to play even at faster speeds… BUT I was only down strumming. Finally a couple weeks ago I decided that I couldn’t stick my head under the sand any longer ( :rofl:) and I started practicing my up-strumming and the Old Faithful rhythm pattern, and it took a couple days to get the hang of the upstrokes.

Alright here’s the thing. Since I’ve started up-strumming, I have gotten noticeably worse at everything else! My chord change speed has gone down (even when I’m not strumming!! lol), sometimes it feels like my left hand fingers don’t even remember how to fret chords correctly, I’m buzzing and muting things I played correctly just a few days before while I desperately try to keep a rhythm going with my right hand :woozy_face:

I understand that now that I’m trying to do different things with the left and right hand my brain is sort of dealing with double the cognitive load… guess I just want some reassurance that it’s normal and that it will get better lol and possibly some tips to get out of this weird spot!

(edited to fix mix up of right and left hand)

2 Likes

4-5 weeks is hardly any time at all. You might have felt you had it but its not as ingrained as you think I feel.

You are now concentrating on more and doing more, and the old stuff is suffering a little, dont worry just keep practicing and take it slow.

3 Likes

That’s your answer right there. :grinning:
Stick at it. You’ll get there.

4 Likes

Don’t forget that paradox that the more you learn, the more you’ve got the feeling you actually don’t know a thing :smiley: