Is it possible to have a bar with 2.5 beats?

I’m sure I’m missing something completely obvious or have gone about this totally the wrong way! :laughing: But I’m just messing around with some basic riffs to practice being creative and decided to tab them out in Guitar Pro however one of them works out to be (in 4/4 timing) 3 bars of eight 8th notes and one bar of five 8th notes so 2.5 beats.
Is this wrong? Can I do that? (Guitar Pro doesn’t like it! :joy:) Or is my time signature / division of beats wrong? Or should I change the riff to fit? :woozy_face:
Actually, I have done the last, sort of at least, I changed it so that it’s 3 beats, so 3 bars of 4/4 timing and one bar of 3/4 timing. But I think I preferred it when it was 2.5 beats? :thinking: :joy:
I’m sure I’m being a complete noob here! :baby: :rofl: Any guidance greatly appreciated! :smiley:

Mmmm. Bit hard to comment without seeing the score. Any rests or 8th note triplets in there you may have missed.
Just throwin ideas around.

Cheers, Shane

1 Like

I was worried someone might say that :joy: It’s very simple stuff so was hoping to avoid sharing but I could understand it’d be tricky without seeing/hearing it. So this is what I was messing around with… Just the beginnings of an idea and I’m sure ripping off a hundred songs! :flushed: :rofl:

This is 29 beats across 4 bars. 29 is a prime number so cannot be divided by anything to get a whole number of notes. You cannot represent this in 4/4. You will need to have at multiple time signatures with at least one odd-time bar. Like this, for instance:

This works and is entirely valid in GuitarPro, but also is musically valid. It is, however, highly unusual and, I would suggest, indicates a mistake somewhere.