Is the metronome my best friend?

Hi Everyone,

Maybe a very silly question but …

I started learning guitar in June 23. So I’m a beginner. I’m consolidating what I learnt in grade 1, practicing strumming patterns, keeping in time, playing along to songs and trying to memorise some simple songs. In one of Justin’s classes (either in a module of grade 1 or in the SOS strumming part 1) there’s a lesson entitled “Your friend the metronome” where Justin explains about how important it is to use a metronome to learn to strum the right rhythm and stay in time.

I have been practicing strumming in time with the metronome but also of course I prefer playing along to songs. I find following the metronome quite difficult. Not if I’m just strumming and muting the strings - then I don’t find it too challenging. But if I am playing chord progressions of some of the songs I was learning then I find it very difficult to do that in time with the metronome and I really have to concentrate a lot. But when I’m playing along to the music, I don’t find it so difficult to keep the strumming rhythm in time. I just get into the rhythm of the music with the drums and bass and then keeping in time seems a lot easier.

So here’s my question: So why so much emphasis on using a metronome to stay in time. Surely following the rhythm of the drums and a bass is like a metronome anyway, so isn’t that better because it’s playing along to actual music rather than to a click click click click sound? Secondly, why does it seem so much harder to me to keep in time with the metronome rather than a backing track of actual music?

I have to say that I don’t really like the metronome as the whole exercise seems very mechanical with the tick tock noise.

Best, Ian