Is there any point upgrading my guitar?

Hi all, I have been learning with Justin for over 18 months on my 2nd hand acoustic Aria AF-20 N. I canā€™t remember exactly what I paid for it but it was under Ā£200 from a guitar shop. I didnā€™t want to spend too much in case I didnā€™t stick with it.

Well, I did stick with it and I have recently started beginner grade 3. I am still not very good, itā€™s slow going and I donā€™t think I am anywhere near the standard of people I see on here. I am lucky enough to be in a position to afford to upgrade my guitar but not sure that there is any point until I am a lot better (I want to avoid ā€˜all the gear, no ideaā€™ syndrome).

Other than the thrill of the new, is there really any point in upgrading my guitar at my skill level?

I am not interested in electric by the way, I enjoy the easy portability of acoustic and am leaning towards folk style/fingerpicking as my preferred sound.

4 Likes

My advice is buy the best quality guitar you can afford. Youā€™ve stuck at it for 18 months, you wonā€™t give up now.
Just because youā€™re a beginner and in your opinion ā€œnot very goodā€ doesnā€™t mean you canā€™t enjoying playing, holding and looking at a quality instrument. Go for it. Life is too short!

11 Likes

Can you go play some?

No idea on the one you have, guitars have many qualities and one Generally wonā€™t cover everythingā€¦

Also 2 guitars are twice as good as 1 guitar, known fact.

Plus you can have one in an alt tuning

4 Likes

Hi Kim!!