Jeff's Learning Log (Learning to Fly)

This is it. This is when I finally become the guitarist I’ve dreamed of being for most of my life.

I always wanted an electric guitar when I was a kid but it was never meant to be. Truth be told, my parents were very good to me but I believe in this instance, it was a matter of not having the patience to listen to me “make noise” (which is certainly what it is at first). :slight_smile: So after having been exposed to lots of different music in college and being particularly inspired by improvisational rock (mostly Phish), I decided it was finally time. I graduated from college and had my own money, so buying a guitar was one of the first things I did. I bought a Fender Stratocaster and a Zoom 505 effects pedal that I had no clue on how to use. This was in 1998, so the internet was still a baby and there certainly weren’t the resources that there are today. There was one dude compiling sometimes dodgy Phish tabs on-line. I wasn’t making a lot of money at the time so lessons weren’t in the cards. I’m a pretty self-motivated person, so I started on my journey to teach myself. I was sure I’d be playing Trey Anastasio leads in no time. Haha. So I mucked around (as Justin would say…I might use an F there instead of the M) for several years, making more progress than I realized at the time, but not enough to really keep me in it. I played up until my son was old enough to want to play all the time and that’s exactly what I did. Being a daddy was the most important thing to me. Priorities. Now, he’s 15 and wants less to do with me so I’m back to it! :slight_smile: And I REALLY missed it.

I’m a creative person by nature. In fact, I turned that into a career. I’m a motion graphics designer and video/audio editor by trade. So I’m pretty well versed in all aspects of A/V media. I also have what Justin refers to as a “musical mind”. The music itself makes so much sense to me, but I’ve never been formally trained in any aspect of music.