Jess - Aussie chica in London, back at guitar after a long break

Hi all,
I’m Jess from Australia, residing in London for the next year.

I came across Justin’s YouTube channel probably 10 years ago when I first picked up a guitar…when he used to sign off each video with a snippet of a Tazmanian Devil!

Since then I’ve been on and off playing (more off than on) but recently felt the itch to pick it up again so I found a cheap secondhand acoustic and now I’m starting back at Justin’s wonderful resources.

I’m super impressed to see how far he and his team have come in building out this site, the learning resources, and the community. Speaking as a learning experience designer, I can safely say it’s brilliant!

For the most part I have learned guitar in a fairly siloed and private way but I’d always lose momentum eventually. As the saying goes I think doing it together gets you further, not to mention it’s far more fun. So, here I am!

Feel free say hi and if you happen to be in London, perhaps we can arrange a coffee meet up even :slight_smile:

Thanks for reading, take care and enjoy your guitar learning, folks!

9 Likes

Hi Jess and welcome to the Community.

If you are restarting and have already seen how much the website and the learning path has changed and improved, it would be worth your while starting with Grade 1 lesson 1.
Why ? It will cement the knowledge and techniques you already have but you will also be able to identify bad habits, easily picked up through self learning I had loads before finding Justin a decade back. Also if you ever did any of the old Beginner Course there is now a shed load of new material and teaching methods.

This will also help you find your current playing level and allow you start building from there in Justin’s structured fashion.

Whatever you do, enjoy the ride !

:sunglasses:

2 Likes

Hi Jess,

Welcome here and I wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses: